Saving workspace with )SI

Learning APL or new to Dyalog? Ask "silly" questions here, without fear...
Post Reply
shallit
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:25 am

Saving workspace with )SI

Post by shallit »

What's the trick to saving a workspace where there is something in the state indicator?

I run my program, interrupt it with weak interrupt, then try to )SAVE, but it says

Cannot perform operation with trace/edit windows open.

But closing the window clears the state indicator, which is not what I want.
User avatar
AndyS|Dyalog
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: Saving workspace with )SI

Post by AndyS|Dyalog »

If you're using Dyalog on Windows then you can select Windows -> Close all windows.

On any platform you can call 2023⌶⍬ (Close All Windows).

In either case any open editor or tracer window will be closed, but the SI stack will be untouched.
shallit
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:25 am

Re: Saving workspace with )SI

Post by shallit »

Great, thanks! (Using on a Mac, btw.)

Is there some option I can set so that the editing window will not appear when I do an interrupt?
User avatar
AndyS|Dyalog
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 6:06 pm

Re: Saving workspace with )SI

Post by AndyS|Dyalog »

The configuration parameter (environment variable) TRACE_ON_ERROR controls this behaviour.

If you would like to prevent the tracer from appearing when you interrupt your code (or indeed when your code stops with an untrapped error) then you should edit $HOME/.dyalog/dyalog.config and add
      export TRACE_ON_ERROR=0
to the file and restart APL.

To check that the environment variable has been correctly set, run
      +2 ⎕nq'.' 'GetEnvironment' 'TRACE_ON_ERROR'
which should return 0.

There's plenty more configuration parameters which can be set .. see https://help.dyalog.com/latest/Content/UserGuide/Installation%20and%20Configuration/Configuration%20Parameters.htm and remember thta for non-Windows platforms you should define the names in upper case.
Post Reply